( I have decided to post my first Design Journal entry because I don’t feel a need to keep it private and I am genuinely interested in and need feedback)

I think I am a person with lots of ideas and I think pretty deeply. more of this later…

When I first saw the Design Thinking methodology, I was heartened in that I’ve always been interested in the topic of Institutional change. However when it comes to change I seem to be of two minds.

First I’m a liberal democrat. Little l Little d. I believe in change, that we can make progress and that it must be done with a majority. Secondly, however I am a Toffler-esque futurist. I believe that change is accelerating, and I am worried that if he we wait too long to reach consensus,sometimes it may be too late.

For me, reading the Design Thinking Toolkit and my reaction to it  I think highlights this dichotomy. I was struck by how the Design Thinking methodology was similar to the Saul Alinsky model for grassroots political activism which I support. I believe that both of these models can bring about change. On the other hand, the toolkit seemed to have so many steps and possible activities that I felt that it could become a cumbersome and too lengthy process. I noted that the author suggested that people were free to do the process as they saw fit and that the toolkit was to provide a comprehensive resource not a set of directions. With this in mind, I’m interested to see how we will use it class. Obviously we will not have the time to follow it step by step but the process used may effect the question I would like to pursue.

One other side note. I was struck by the pictures in the toolkit of groups and sticky notes. As this class is technological in nature I wonder how technology could aide and perhaps improve the process.

OK, so what questions?

1) First my largest question and I think the most important.

Assuming that artificial intelligence driven platforms will soon be able to better deliver personalized learning, what is the future role of teachers?

I think this trend will be greatly accelerated in the current political climate as I believe they will green light corporate educational endeavors.

2) Less large, but still pretty big.

In light of Reinventing School initiatives, what would a competency based social studies curriculum look like and how could it be supported with technology?

I think the “Next Generation School” momentum is growing and I know that some are already being asked to redo curricula. I’m trying to stay ahead of the curve

3) I guess just as big.

How can technology be used to create student centered and global collaboration?

This question grew out of one of my recent Lesley courses. I’ve got some ideas here but I do no think they would harm my objectivity.

So that’s a start. I’m hoping for some feedback and clarity.

Leave a Reply

